Mechanical Engineering
Arnab Ghosh

Seven Points to remember before you start to learn a CAD software.

Hello Everyone,
My name is Arnab Ghosh and I have around 4 years of experience in writing tutorials and training material on CAD software. I have recently written a post on 'Seven Points to remember before you start to learn a CAD software'. 
Please spare some time to read the post and feel free to comment.
Here is the link: https://mechmonologues.wordpress.com/2015/07/15/7-tips-of-learning-a-cad-software/
Thanks,
Arnab.

1. Get your geometry and graphics basic brushed up.

To write a good essay, it is necessary that you have a good grammar and vocabulary of that language. Now, consider your geometry knowledge to be grammar and graphics to be the vocabulary.

2. Know your manufacturing processes and GD&T.

I know you would probably say why does a design engineer need to know about the manufacturing process and the answer is that this is how you will design a part in CAD. When you are designing a particular part in CAD you need to follow a design approach. One such design approach is Manufacturing design approach. Where you put features on the part as they are supposed to followed in the manufacturing process.

3. Remember it is just a tool, the design is in your head.

When you create a model in CAD, the origin of the object design is actually in your head. If you wish to create a model of a Gearbox assembly then it is obvious that you will have the dimensions of gears that will fit in the gearbox, distance between the gear shafts, dimensions of  gearbox case

4. All CAD Softwares are built on the same philosophy.

Mercedes designers use UGNX and Jaguar designers use CATIA. So, is this difference making Mercedes a better company than Jaguar or CATIA a better software than UGNX. All these 4 companies that I have mentioned are the leaders in their specific domains.

5. Start your design with a hand sketch.