Mechanical Engineering
Chad Dixon

Harmonics...

First of all, hello and I'll thank anyone caring to review this ahead of time.

For starters:   I am not an engineer in any capacity.  I'm a machinist and business owner.  I build bolt action rifles for a living and have for close to 20 years.  Onto my question:

Can anyone provide me with a laymans definition of the term "harmonics" as it pertains to the behavior of a rifle barrel as it is subjected to the forces at play during the firing event?  I have researched this and I will confess that I end up devoting most of the time being redirected in a variety of directions as I attempt to educate myself on the vernacular being used so that I can attempt to comprehend the actual definition.

As part of work I speak with clients and this subject matter becomes a relevant topic often.  What I find is most are merely regurgitating information they've encountered online somewhere, however the meat and potatoes of actually understanding it is vague at best.

Before I put my own foot in my mouth, I'd like to know myself.

The context of what I'm asking applies when guys like me start altering the physical outside shape of a rifle barrel.  Be it either from contouring, Fluting, or adding a coating of some kind.   I can appreciate the influence this might have in terms of how the barrel ultimately behaves, but again being able to accurately define the term "harmonic" is what I'm after.

I hope this is enough information and thank you again for your time and consideration.

All the best,

C.

Harmonics typically related to vibration.

Something, say "A", will vibrate erratically under a certain condition. When "A" vibrate erratically, it will likely to fail due to excessive deformation.

This "certain condition" could be related to wind flow (for lighting pole), machine rotation (for a shaft) or other factors.