• br
DrD

Machine Design Methods

Very right sir. I too have felt the same thing, although I might not be as experienced as you are. In fact, I have myself fallen into the trap. I, as a turbine designer, am not worried about the Navier stokes' and Reynolds' transportation theorems. What I know is that I have got an advanced CFD tool which can analyse any turbine operating point for me and I can then make necessary design optimizations. I don't know, if this way I shall ever become an expert in design or I shall become a mere CFD code operator!

As an older engineer, I am rather dismayed by what I see as the results of engineering education today. I have seen most young engineers come out of their college degree programs with a modest familiarity with come CAD program and a related Finite Element program, and an almost complete lack of capability to analyze machine components without the use of FEA. Thus they are unfamilliar with basic design calculations relating shear stress in a shaft to the power being transmitted, the shaft sped and the shaft diameter. Instead, they want to create an FEA model and run the numbers that way which is simply not the way you make any progress in designing a machine.

It is certainly true that FEA allows for a good detailed stress analysis of complex geometries, something that was not possible in general by the older methods. But the results obtained are highly dependent on the skill of the user in applying the correct boundary conditions, something that is a bit of an art in itself.

I have observed a tendency to even want to use FEA to do kinematics, rather than using simple, rigid body kinematic relations. This seems like pure foolishness in almost all cases. Are we not developing a tendency to lean too heavily on the computer, rather than to learn to think as engineers?

I would be happy to hear some comments and discussion from others on these matters.

Yes saurabh is right,