Mechanical Engineering Community
DrD

The New Way or the Old Way?

Long, long ago, in a land far away, I was an undergraduate engineering student. I knew some of my fellow students who studied a course called "Kinematics," and that puzzled me. Kinematics had been one of the parts of my first course in dynamics, so I wondered what else there was to the matter; I really did not know much at all. I borrowed a textbook for the Kinematics course, and it looked interesting, particularly the aspect that seemed to deal with real machines. I liked that. But then I asked about the course and I learned that it was a lot like the drafting course that we were all required to take. Specifically, the solutions were all obtained by scale drawings. With that bit of information, my interest in Kinematics cooled completely.

Now way back then, I was a pretty good draftsman, and I certainly was not put off by that in itself. I enjoyed drafting, and I had begun doing it for fun back in junior high school. But for kinematics, to major difficulties were immediately evident:

(1) No matter how sharp you make your pencil point, drawn lines have width (without width, we could not see them). This very substantially limits the accuracy of a drawn solution. Jumping ahead some years, when I worked for Hamilton Watch Company, our draftsmen would make greatly oversized drawings to graphically check clearances, and other mechanism features. The common scale was 40:1, meaning that the drawing was 40 times the actual size. This was before CAD had really taken hold, so these huge drawings would be spread out on drafting tables and everything was carefully drawn to scale.