• br

Hello guys, I am an electrical engineer, trying to solve a mechanical engineering problem. I am stuck at the analysis of the 4 bar cross quadrilateral linkage that allows a box as shown in figure 1 to pitch along z axis.

Some information of symbols in figure -1 :

-- The images are the top view with the z axis for each joint coming out of the paper.

-- Joints (All joints are Revolute): J1 (Actuated by motor) J2 (Passive) J3 (Passive), J4 (Passive)

-- Links:

L34 is the ground link / fixed link

L23 is the input link/ crank

L12 is the coupler link

L41 is the output link / rocker

I have done alot of research over the past week and found freundstein equation. For solving it, it is assumed that the input crank angle is given but my motor is mounted at at joint J1. I have to find the pitch at joint J4 as a function of motor angle at Joint J1.  Could some one please guide me in this matter..

The blue bot in the image is the motor axis of rotation( Joint J1). Link L12 is distance from the blue dot (joint J1) to the joint J2 and only link length L12 is important, you can ignore the link above the blue dot..

Figure1.thumb.jpg.e0590431934ba0e7167ebbab340387ea.jpg

The housing of the motor as shown in figure below is fixed on the box and the I expect the whole box to pitch as shown in the following images about joint J4.

cRMNB7W.thumb.jpg.4da7416cb1c7378a6689601d6b1ca0d3.jpg

After some rotation of the motor in clockwise direction, the box moves as shown below by rotating about joint J4.

6OzCjmK.thumb.jpg.d1026707dd3585bd0ee027bab2ad17ea.jpg

If you will go over to the Mechanics Corner blog, I think you will find the information you need in post #3, early in the series. I don't think I ever posted on a four-bar linkage per se, but the methods described there will fit for any planar linkage.