Mechanical Engineering
Medhat Hamed

How to know more about other fields of ME.

Question

Hello , i'm a first year ME student. My university offers two subfields of ME which students will join after the first two years of general ME , they are Mechanical design engineering and Mechanical power engineering. now , I find myself so interested in Cars and mechatronics but mainly (cars) , my question is which one of these fields is the closest one to either of them ? and the other one is how can I learn about automobile engineering and mechatronics on my own ?

3 answers to this question

Automotive engineering involves both the mechanical design side and the thermal power side. Even if we narrow it just to engines, the statement above is still true. The truth is simply that you have to know both sides to some degree, even if your interest is primarily on one or the other  side.

DrD

Below are the some related fields of ME. You can look at them

• Biomedical and Engineering Fluid Mechanics.
  • Combustion and the Environment.
  • Ground Vehicle Systems.
  • Heat Transfer, Thermodynamics and Energy Systems.
  • Manufacturing.
  • Mechanical Design.
  • System Dynamics and Control.
  • Transportation Systems.