Mechanical Engineering
Sign in to follow this  
thedoctorD

An odd phenomenon that I discovered when fixing my truck

First, some background. I own an 84 Chevy S10 with a 2.8l V6. I've been fighting the stupid Verajet II carb since the day I bought it. It's been fairly reliable, but the power was always awful, it idled terribly, and didn't get nearly the gas mileage that I think a 1900lb vehicle should get, regardless the style of induction.

Now, I am a fairly capable mechanic, and as such, I was not content to simply let this continue. No sir'ee, I had to fix it, so I went to my carb box, selected a suitable carb, (an autolite 2150 seemed appropriate) and proceeded to tear that Verajet off in a hurry. Much to my dismay, the Verajet has a very unique bolt pattern that didnt match any of the carbs in my box. Problem. I needed an adapter, so off to Oreilleys I went, purchased a universal 2bbl adapter, and went to slap it on. No dice. Not a single pattern fit.

"Hmm," says I. Looks like I'll have to make one. My MIG welder was out of wire, so steel was not an option, and my TIG welder was loaned out, so aluminum was also not an option. But wait! A wild idea emerged! Sitting right on the spool of my 3d printer, a fresh roll of Shore 95a TPU.

Experiment time. Most Chevy's run at about 210 degrees Fahrenheit on the water gauge, or a bit under 100deg Celsius, and my printer will only start effectively melting the TPU at around 230-240deg Celsius, but I knew little about how it would handle that kind of temperature for any period of time, so I took a previously failed print, stuck it on a piece of aluminum foil, and threw it in the oven at 250 degrees F for an hour.

Upon removal, the print had held it's shape, and though it was noticeably more rubbery, it did not melt or collapse, and it returned to it's previous consistency as it cooled.

This might work!