Mechanical Engineering Community
Sharvil Pradhan

Role of Mechanical Engineer in IT industry

I am in final year of mechanical engineering from University of Mumbai. I got placement in TCS through campus placement drives. I want to know the role of a mechanical engineer in IT industry. Will the job profile be related to mechanical engineering? Please contact at sharvil_pradhan@yahoo.com

Waiting for your reply.

The some of automobile industries and some other industries belonging to mechanical have some software projects to it companies so for doing that projects only mechanical people are perfect, like our construction machines or cv vehicles are having the latest controlling systems ECU(

electronic control unit)

which control the working of vehicle/machines & new engines which comes with new emmsion norms are electronically controlled require a software to maintain the system.

The main functions of mechanical engineers nowadays:

• Research and assess design proposals and specifications.
  • Develop and test design models with the use of software programs to assess feasibility.
  • Investigate the cause of equipment and system failures, and provide feedback to drafters and design engineers.
  • Read and interpret technical illustrations, blueprints, and computer-generated reports.
  • Develop structural designs for products with the use of CAD and other drafting software programs.
  • Recommend design modifications to ensure there will be no malfunctions in the system or in the machine.

If you may have noticed, the scope of work of a mechanical engineer involves the use of computer aided engineering tools, especially in industrialized countries. Without such tools, it would be difficult for these professionals to create designs, perform analysis, and utilize designing interfaces.